Masks, Gloves, Sanitisers Distribution For Voters At Assam Polling Booth

Must Read

Parth Dubey
Parth Dubey
I am Parth Dubey, currently an undergraduate. I have been working as a content writer for the past 6 months and have worked in various fields with many people and firms. I firmly believe that writing is not just about money making or attracting people, it's more about knowledge and information, along with feelings.

During the first phase of assembly elections in Assam, voters in the Mankata region of the Lahowal constituency are being given masks, gloves, and hand sanitizers because of the COVID-19 pandemic.

At a primary school that has been designated as a polling booth, the temperature of voters is also being tracked.

At the polling station, people were also seen maintaining social distance.

From the Lahowal constituency, Binod Hazarika of the Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP), Manoj Dhanowar of the Congress, and Likhan Baruah of the Assam Jatiya Parishad (AJP) are running.

The first phase of the elections started at 7 a.m. today in 47 constituencies spread across 12 districts across the state.

In this process, over 81.09 lakh voters, including 40,77,210 men and 40,32,481 women, are eligible to vote at 1,1537 polling stations. The polls will be open until 6 p.m.

Stats Regarding Assam Elections:

A total of 264 candidates are running for 47 seats, including 42 seats from 11 districts in Upper Assam and northern Assam, and five seats from Nagaon district in central Assam.

37 sitting MLAs are up for re-election, with 24 from the Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP), six each from the Congress and the Asom Gana Parishad (AGP), and one from the All India United Democratic Front (AIUDF).

Crucial contest in MP as voting to be held in bypolls to 54 assembly seats  on Tuesday in 10 states a- The New Indian Express
New Indian Express

For the elections, 375 security companies were mobilised, including both central and state armed police forces such as the Central Armed Police Force (CRPF) and State Armed Police (SAP) of other nations. During the first phase, 300 units would be operational.

In Majuli, incumbent Chief Minister Sarbananda Sonowal is a key candidate for this round of voting. In the 2016 assembly elections, Mr. Sonowal defeated Congress’ Rajib Lochan Pegu for the seat. Mr. Pegu, who had previously won the seat three times in a row since 2001, has been re-nominated by Congress.

Assembly Speaker Hitendra Nath Goswami, ministers Ranjit Dutta from Behali, Naba Kumar Doley from Jonai, and Sanjoy Kishan from Tinsukia are all running for election in Jorhat of Assam.

Ministers from the NDA’s ally AGP, Atul Bora of Bokakhat and Keshab Mahanta of Kaliabor, will also be confirmed.

Ripun Bora of the Congress is running for the Gohpur seat, which his wife Monika Bora lost in the 2016 elections. Utpal Bora, a sitting BJP MLA, will face the 60-year-old king.

There are 126 constituencies in the three-phase Assam assembly elections, with 33,530 polling stations comprising more than 2.33 crore voters in the state.

Latest News

The Heirs Season 2 : Plot, Cast And Release date

The Heirs is also known as The Inheritors, is the most popular South Korean romantic drama placed upon the...